Pre-loader logo

Bashundhara Kings emerge as unbeaten champions

Bashundhara Kings emerge as unbeaten champions

Tricotex 3rd Women’s Football League (WFL) ended at Bir Sherestha Shaheed Sepoy Mostafa Kamal Stadium on Sunday. Country’s top-flight football club Bashundhara Kings claimed the title with all-win-record in their maiden appearance in the seven-team double-leg league while Nasrin Sporting Club ended runners-up and Jamalpur Kacharipara Akadas third.

Kings secured the title with one match to spare crushing Jamalpur Kacharipara XI by 13-1 goals in their 11th league match last Sunday while maintained the all-win-record beating FC Uttar Bongo by 14-1 goals in the 12th and last league match on Wednesday, all at the same venue.

With the feats, the big-budgeted club secured the full 36 points with all 12 wins, Nasrin SA earned 30 points with 10 wins and two defeats and Jamalpur bagged 19 points with 6 wins, one draw and three defeats. Two lowly teams — Spartan MK Gallactico Sylhet FC and Kumilla United — earned 7 and 4 points respectively.
Kings forward cum captain Sabina Khatun, who is also the forward cum captain of national women’s team, adjudged the top scorer scoring while her teammate and national-coloured forward Krishna Rani Sarkar ended second scoring 22 goals. The 27-year-old forward Sabina also recorded the highest number of eight hat-tricks in the competition. Kings another national-coloured midfielder Tohura Khatun became the most valuable player scoring 16 goals.

Seven teams scored a total of 243 goals in 39 matches. Champions Kings scored a total of 119 goals while conceded just 3 in their 12 games. Kings also claimed the highest margin of 15-0 goals win against Kumilla United on Dec 1. It was also the league’s highest-scoring match.

On the last day, Gallactico Sylhet FC beat the upper–ranked Jamalpur Kacharipara by 1-0 goal in the first match while runners-up Nasrin SA outplayed Kumilla United by 9-0 goals in the second match. In the first match, midfielder Ruksana Akter clinched the win netting lone goal for Gallactico Sylhet FC. In the second match, forward Sapna Rani made a hat-trick scoring four goals while defender Nousin Akter scored two goals and forward Marzia, forward Anuchung Mogini, midfielder Razia Khtaun added one each.

After the day’s match, president of South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) and Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) Kazi Salahuddin distributed medals among the champions and runners-up teams as the chief guest. Besides, BFF vice-president Ataur Rahman Bhuiyan Manik, women’s wing chief and BFF EC member Mahfuza Akter Kiron, general secretary Md Abu Nayeem Shohag and others were also present there.

The champions awarded Tk 3 lakh while runners-up got Tk 2 lakh. Besides, both teams got trophies and medals. Top scorer and most valuable player got Tk 5,000 each. Congratulating the new champions Bashundhara Kings, the chief guest Salahuddin said, “I hope other big teams will also take part in the league in future. I will try to make this league more competitive in the future.”

BFF women’s wing chief Kiron said, “We’re planning to make this league more professional next year. The participating clubs need AFC club licenses to take part in AFC women football competitions. I will also work on this issue.”
Head coach of champions Bashundhara Kings Mahmuda Sharifa Oditi said, “We got all supports from Bashundhara, so they deserve the title and we gave them that. We want to play AFC competitions, BFF should step forward on this issue. The federation also needs to provide a calendar of domestic seasons for our women football.”

Bashundhara Kings captain cum forward Sabina said, “The league will be more competitive if our big clubs take part. I hope the federation will make it more competitive in the future. The league is more important for our players, BFF should continue it regularly.”

The league held after a seven-year long break with the participation of seven teams this year. They were: Bashundhara Kings, Begum Anwara SC, FC Uttar Bongo, Nasrin SC, Cumilla United, Kacharipara XI and MK Gallactico Sylhet. After a seven-month COVID-19 break, the league resumed from November 7.

However, the first edition was held in 2011 where Sheikh Jamal DC clinched the title beating Dhaka Mohammedan and the second edition was held in 2013 where Dhaka Mohammedan emerged champions beating Dhaka Abahani Ltd.

Copyright © 2023 Sayem Sobhan Anvir.
All Rights Reserved.