Pre-loader logo

Jewelry sector to be made export oriented: New BAJUS president

Jewelry sector to be made export oriented: New BAJUS president

Newly-elected president of Bangladesh Jewellers Samity (BAJUS) Sayem Sobhan Anvir, also Managing Director of Bashundhara Group, has said efforts will be given to make the country’s jewelry sector export oriented.

He said: “Jewelry is a potential sector of the country. Unfortunately, the field has not flourished that much. I will try my level best to develop the sector and make it export oriented.”

Sayem Sobhan Anvir made the statement while the newly-elected office bearers of the BAJUS took over charge at a ceremony at Le Méridien Dhaka on Wednesday.

Speaking on the occasion as the chief guest, Md Jashim Uddin, president of Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI), hoped that Sayem Sobhan Anvir will be able to take jewelers sector to a new height.

Recalling contribution of Bashundhara Group, he said “Bashundhara Group has created huge industrialisation and employment in the country. Bashundhara Group Chairman Ahmed Akbar Sobhan has secured top position of its all sectors. Bashundhara housing, media, news TV and sports TV all are dominating the respective fields. Similarly, jewelry sector will be flourished under guidance of Sayem Sobhan Anvir.”

The outgoing committee handed over the charges to new President Sayem Sobhan Anvir, the founder of the country’s first gold refinery in the private sector and Managing Director of leading industrial conglomerate Bashundhara Group, and General Secretary Dilip Kumar Agarwala in a programme in the capital.

The newly elected seven vice-presidents are Gulzar Ahmed, owner of The Apan Jewellers; Anwar Hossain of New General Jewellers Ltd, MA Hannan Azad of Alankar Niketan (Pvt) Ltd, Badal Chandra Roy of Jarwa House (Pvt) Ltd, Dr Dewan Aminul Islam of Siraj Jewellers, Md Anisur Rahman of L Rahman Jewellers and Kazi Nazneen Islam Nipa of The Amin Jewellers.

The nine elected assistant secretaries are Masudur Rahman of Gold World, Samit Ghosh Apu of Fancy Diamond, Bidhan Malakar of Venus Diamond Collection, Md Joynal Abedin Khokon of Rizvi Jewellers, Md Liton Hawlader of New Sonartari Jewellers, Narayan Chandra Dey of Baishakhi Jewellers, Md Tajul Islam Lavlu of Moni Mala Jewellers, Enamul Haque Bhuiyan Liton of Gold King Jewellers and Mukta Ghosh of Purabi Jewellers (Pvt) Ltd.

Uttam Banik, owner of Messrs Kundan Jewellery House and Jaya Gold, has been elected treasurer of the organisation.

The 16 executive committee members are: Owner of Grameen Diamond House and former BAJUS President Dr Dilip Kumar Roy, owner of Sharmin Jewellers and Diamond & Divas and outgoing President of BAJUS Enamul Haque Khan, Mohammad Babul Mia of Sultana Jewellers (Pvt) Ltd, Md Imran Chowdhury of The Diamond Sea, Pabitra Chandra Ghosh of PC Chandra Jewellers, Md Ripnul Hasan of Jewellery House, Alhaj Md Mojibur Rahman Khan of Rahman Jewellers, Bablu Dutta of Messrs Lily Jewellers, Md Shahidul Islam (MD) of Rajnigandha Jewellers Ltd, Joydev Sahaler of The Pearl Oasis Jewellers, Iqbal Uddin of Messrs Sajni Jewellers, Kartik Karmakar of Shatarupa Jewellers, Uttam Ghosh of Aftab Jewellers, Md Ferdous Alam Shaheen of Shaili Jewellers, Kazi Nazneen Hossain Zara of Zara Gold and Mohammad Aslam Khan of Royal Malabar Jewellers (BD) Ltd.

BDST: 1525 HRS, DEC 15, 2021

Copyright © 2022 Sayem Sobhan Anvir.
All Rights Reserved.