Pre-loader logo

Kings retain Federation Cup title

Kings retain Federation Cup title

Country’s top tier outfit Bashundhara Kings retained the title of Walton Federation Cup for successive time as they beat Saif Sporting Club Limited by 1-0 margin in the 32nd edition final at Bangabandhu National Stadium on Sunday.

Argentine-born Chilean forward Raul Oscar Becerra netted the match winner in the 52nd minute as the big-budgeted club bagged their first trophy in the new season.

The star-studded club, who played Federation Cup finals three times since 2018, earlier beat Rahamatgonj Muslim Friends Society by 2-1 to win their maiden title last year.


The Bangladeshi top outfit ended runners-up after conceding 3-1 defeat to Dhaka Abahani Limited in their first appearance in Federation Cup final in 2018.

Kings appeared on the field with two changes from their previous playing XI — midfielder Matin Miah replaced midfielder Biplo Ahamed and midfielder Md Ibrahim replaced forward Mahbubur Rahman Sufil while Saif SC appeared with the unchanged squad on Sunday.

The defending champions made dominating start against Saif SC, who were playing their first ever Federation Cup final.

Kings could have opened their account in the 4th minute but their captain Topu Barman’s goal was disallowed by referee Jalal Uddin citing off-side.

Both Kings and Saif got several close chances in the first half. In the 16th minutes, Kings defender Bishwanath Ghosh was denied by Saif SC goalkeeper Md Pappu Hossain.

Kings goalkeeper Anisur Rahman Zico also proved his worth in the match by spoiling a close chance from midfielder Foysal Ahmed Fahim in the 20th minute.


He also defended a direct free-kick from defender Rahmat Mia just a few seconds before the half time.

Kings finally broke the deadlock in the second half with their Argentine forward Raul Becerra netted with a left-footer from inside the box utilizing a pass from Brazilian forward Robson Azevedo da Silva Robinho in the 52nd minute (1-0).

Saif SC tried hard to equalize the margin after conceding the goal but Kings goalkeeper Zico spoiled all of their efforts with his eye-catching performances.

Zico denied a powerful close-range shot from Nigerian forward Ikechukwu Kenneth Ngwoke from outside the box in the 70th minute and fisted again his header from inside the box in the 86th minute to make sure his team lifting the trophy for second time in row.

List of Awards:

  • Tournament Champion: Bashundhara Kings
  • Tournament Runners-Up: Saif Sporting Club
  • Fair Play: Chittagong Abahoni Ltd
  • Man of the Final: Raul Oscar Becerra of Bashundhara Kings
  • Highest Scorer: Raul Oscar Becerra of Bashundhara Kings and Ikechukwu Kenneth Ngwoke of Saif Sporting Club (5 Goals)
  • Most Valuable Player: Ikechukwu Kenneth Ngwoke from Saif Sporting Club

Source:  Daily Sun

Copyright © 2023 Sayem Sobhan Anvir.
All Rights Reserved.