Pre-loader logo

Rangpur win BPL crown

Rangpur win BPL crown
Rangpur Riders clinched the title of the fifth edition of Bangladesh Premier League T20 tournament, demolishing Dhaka Dynamites in the grand finale on Tuesday.
Rangpur routed Dhaka by 57 runs at the match at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the capital, winning the BPL title for the first time.
Rangpur Riders opener Chris Gayle raised a storm of batting at the fan-packed stadium, powering his team to a huge total of 206 runs against Dhaka Dynamites.
Chris Gayle played an extraordinary innings of 146 runs off 69 balls, hammering 18 sixes and five fours.
He was adjudged the exciting player of the match, the best player of the final and player of the tournament for this outstanding performance.
Gayle and his teammate Brendon McCullum shared an unbeaten 201-run partnership in the second wicket stand.
McCullum also showed terrific form and supported Gayle with his 51 runs off 43 deliveries.
Mashrafe Mortaza-led Rangpur also displayed an extraordinary show with bowling as they sent Dhaka batsmen in the pavilion at regular intervals.
No Dhaka batsmen were able to counter the Rangpur bowling attack. BPL franchisee Rangpur Riders started its fresh journey under the care of the country’s leading business conglomerate Bashundhara Group in May this year.
BPL giant Rangpur Riders captured their coveted BPL trophy in an emphatic style as Gayle smashed his second hundred of this BPL to underline his reputation.
Rangpur win BPL crown
Chris Gayle
Despair for Dhaka Dynamites, who were defending champion, got to the end of their fairytale BPL-5 story only to find Rangpur had penned a cruel twist on the final page. All Dhaka’s fielders and crowds just watched the Gayle show.
Dhaka won the toss and decided to field first.
Dhaka were not able to place up a fight and Rangpur bowlers came up with a superb show to restrict them in 137 in 149 for 9 in the stipulated 20 overs.
Off-spinner Sohag Gazi, Nazmul Islam and Ravi Bopara tore the heart out of a Jahurul Islam-led Dhaka resistance to finish with two wickets apiece. Jahurul top scored 50 from 38, but his effort proved little.
In his second-wicket partnership of 201 runs with McCullum, Gayle’s contribution was 146 while McCullum (51 not out) was reduced to a spectator at the other end.
Gayle admired his team and thanked the supporters. He said that he is looking forward to play in the next season of BPL.
“Hopefully I will play in the next edition of BPL, In Sha Allah”, he said during the award presentation ceremony.
Nazmul Islam Apu of Rangpur was adjudged the bowler of the match.
The most experienced campaigner Mashrafe, who won four BPL titles out of the five, hailed Gayle and his team.
“It’s a treat to watch him play from the dressing room,” said Mashrafe.
Mashrafe also said it was a tough journey joining the top 4 as the last one to qualify. He hoped that his team and the management can relax now holding the title for one year.
Dhaka skipper Shakib Al Hasan also praised Gayle for his explosive batting.
“When he (Gayle) plays like this, there’s nothing to stop him,” said Shakib, who also jokingly mentioned that he didn’t complete his 4-over bowling quota to not face Gayle’s destructive strikes.

Copyright © 2023 Sayem Sobhan Anvir.
All Rights Reserved.